Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3312

Add to My list
Sent by:
Gerald Egerton Boyle
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
26 April 1911

Sent by Gerald Egerton Boyle, Blandford Road, Broadstone to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset] on 26 April 1911.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3312.3280)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46442 ff. 140-141
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Gerald Egerton Boyle Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Blandford R[oa]d

Broadstone

April 26 1911

Dear Sir,

I feel I should like to tell you how much I have been helped by some of your books. I well remember how, when quite a youth, the knowledge that you, who accepted all Darwin's2 news, stood for what I may call the 'Spiritual' side of nature, was a great help to me.

Now I have just finished the 'Word, Life', & again found & have found amongst thus the chapter on pain in animals very helpful. I have long felt that the small [[2]] brain proves of the lower creation meant a small capacity for feeling pain & it was nice to hear another agreement to the same effort.

I am here in change of this parish during Mr. Slent's absence, & should very much like, if you are not too busy, to call on you personally to thank you. Perhaps you will let me know.

Yours very faithfully | (Rev[erend].) G. E. Boyle [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Written in the top left in an unidentified hand is "About 5 p.m.".

2. Darwin, Charles Robert (1809-1882). English naturalist and geologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.