Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3176

Add to My list
Sent by:
J. Archer
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
13 March 1899

Sent by J. Archer, Sidcup to Alfred Russel Wallace [none given] on 13 March 1899.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3176.3144)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46441 ff. 178-179
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the J. Archer Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

[1 word illeg.] Sidcup

13th Mar[ch]. 1899

Dear Dr. Wallace

I have no relatives left at Leighton Buzzard but I am sending on your letter to some old friends living there.

If they should not be able to ascertain the facts you need, I will ask [[2]] my [1 word illeg.] when next I see him.

He is a very old resident in Leighton.

I am glad to tell you that Neill is going on as well as possible, and gaining strength fast. Will you please thank Mrs. Wallace from me for her kind [[3]]2 letter. I was so glad to hear about your son and daughter.

When Neill is stronger I should be so glad also to see Violet if she could make time to pay us a visit.

With kind regards | Believe me | Very truly yours | J. Archer[signature]

ENDNOTES

1. 178 is written in the upper righthand corner.

2. 179 is written in the upper righthand corner.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.