Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3125

Sent by:
Marianne North
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
28 February [?1889]

Sent by Marianne North, 3 Victoria Street, S.W. to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) [none given] on 28 February [?1889].

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna


No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3125.3093)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46441 ff. 86-87
Copyright owner:
With permission of the rights holder

Physical description

Transcription information




Victoria Street SM

28th Febr[uary]1

Dear Mrs Wallace2

How very kind of you to send me those lovely snowdrops! They are so much more beautiful than the double ones, every flower I get makes me long more & more to be back in my garden in Gloucestershire it is so lovely I wish you [[2]] & Mr Wallace would come and pay me a visit someday when he comes back. you might come & meet him there! it is only a little out of the way[.] If you are leaving Godalming you might find a nice new home close by, some hundred years old & and absolutely cheap-like mine. In the most perfect country. with neighbours [[3]] who do as their fathers did, & are contented.

I hope to be there [1 word illeg. crossed out] by Easter week & not return here till winter comes again.

ever yours truly | Marianne North3 | [signature]

Miss Gwen is at Mrs. Fenns Marlboro[ugh] Street. or she would send her love Miss North

[[4]]4, 5


1. "[1889]" is written underneath the date in an unidentified hand.

2. Wallace, Annie (neé Mitten). (1848-1914). Alfred Wallace’s wife.

3. North, Marianne (1830 -1890). British biologist and botanical artist.

4. "Miss North" is written in pencil in an unidentified hand.

5. The page is stamped by the British Museum.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.