Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP311

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
5 August [1898]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, [address not recorded] to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 5 August [1898].

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. Violet's itinerary, request for alpine plants; Ma's (Annie Wallace) health; trip to Tufa pits with her brother William and Mr C Reid; (fossil) leaf beds at Flag Hind Chine and Bournemouth; new chess player Mr Adams; disappointing attempts with telescope, stand needed; Mr Ponton leaving for Baden.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP311.311)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/110
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

Sunday Morning. Aug[ust] 5.

My dear Violet

Your post-card just came. Glad to find you are all right in the midst of the glories of the Alps. It is perhaps well that the Bernese Alps are left for the last, because they are the finest of all, & if you had seen them first the rest might have been poor by comparison. I hope you will be able to walk back over the St. Gothard[sic] pass & through the celebrated valley of the Devils Bridge. Get to Fusio as soon as you can, and ascertain about parcel-post, and send me a good lot of small alpine plants. You will see thousands there.

[[2]] I enclose the mysterious telegram which arrived after you left. I went to the P[ost] office to ask if it really was Norwich, and the telegraph clerk said yes it was, he was quite certain. That is what I could not send an intelligible telegram to you.

Ma got bad rheumatism from the Tufa-pit & the boat, & was in bed two days. All night now. Will had another day there with Mr. C. Reid, & I also on Friday. More leaves & shells & flint-flakes and bits of skull but no backbones at all! Mr. C. Reid is off now for the Brit[ish] Ass[ociatio]n & Switzerland. When he comes back he hopes to have [[3]] power to excavate & find out more about the age of the Tufa. The new chess-player, Mr. Adams, came up on Thursday evening & beat me three games right off! I was not quite in good order, & hope to do better next time, but he is certainly the best player here. Mr. C. Reid went with Will one day to the leaf-bed near Flag Hind Clive[?] and he says it is all covered up by the debris. They went on to the Bournemouth bed and found a few nice leaf impressions. It has been very dull & cloudy every night here and we have not been able to try the telescope once. One evening [[4]] we took it out but it was so damp that the whole tube & glasses got covered with dew & we could see nothing. I will get [a] proper stand so that we can see something at Xmas.

Let us know about the journey -- whether you slept anywhere, how long you were in the train, at what hour you reached Lucerne &c. &c. Where you first saw the mountains. Haow you live at the hotels, &c. I hope you are keeping your journal daily & hourly, & will send us a copy as promised.

Mr. Ponton leaves for good next month. He is going to Fribourg in Baden. No more news here.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.