Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP299

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
16 December 1897

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 16 December 1897.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. acorns and a hedgehog; bill for flannelette; Florence; orchids wanted from A H Grimsditch, Liverpool; no news from her brother William.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP299.299)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/98
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

Dec. 16th. 1897

My dear Violet

I did enclose some acorns in a paper with the hedgehog &c. but they are not growing

I enclose you the bill for the flannellette[sic] & only received a week or two ago. The first two lots are yours and Florences I think.

If she will be so good, she can send me the account in any of the orchids named, [[2]] which are to be had of a man named A. H. Grimsditch at 17, Dryden Road, Edge Lane, Liverpool. The kinds I want from his old list, which I have, are as named on the other side. The first two preferred if he has them. They are quite small so they can be sent by post, only I want nice fresh specimens with good leaves.

We have had no letter from Will for 2 weeks, but hope to hear in a day or two.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.