Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2969

Sent by:
Alexander Frederick Richmond ("Sandy") Wollaston
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
25 October 1909

Sent by Alexander Frederick Richmond ("Sandy") Wollaston, Savile Club, Piccadilly to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Old Orchard, Broadstone, Wimborne, Dorset] on 25 October 1909.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna


No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2969.2859)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46438 f. 99
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Alexander Frederick Richmond ("Sandy") Wollaston Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information





4839 Gerrard 2



Oct[ober]. 25. 1909.

My Dear Sir,

I am greatly obliged to you for lending me these letters of Professor Newton's3, which I return herewith. They have been most useful and instructing.

I am starting tomorrow for Dutch New Guinea, via Dolbo[?]

Believe me | Yours truly | A. F. R[.] Wollaston [signature]4


1. There is a catalogue/reference number inscribed in the top right-hand corner of the page. It reads "99".

2. The direction for telephone calls is printed obliquely and placed towards the top left-hand corner of the page.

3. Newton, Alfred (1829-1907). English zoologist and ornithologist.

4. Wollaston, Alexander Frederick Richmond "Sandy" (1875-1930). British doctor, naturalist and explorer.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.