Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP295

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
10 October 1897

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [none given] on 10 October 1897.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. news from her brother William in America; her possible career and salary at Limpsfield; grandpa (William Mitten) finding a rare grass near Wareham, Dorset, Mr. Mansell-Playdell pleased; orchids; Violet's dress; Annie's desire to visit America. Addendum by Annie Wallace

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP295.295)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/94
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Oct.[obe]r 10th. 1897

My dear Violet1,

I send you Will's2 last letter, with more adventures & risks. Send it on to Hurst when read.

If you can make good terms for Limpsfield it will be a nice healthy place for you. Could you not arrange at once besides your fixed salary to have something extra for each child above a certain number. There is no particular news, but more new people. [[2]] Did I tell you that Grandpa3 found here a plant that had never been found before in Dorset - a grass in a ditch near Wareham. He said it ought to grow there & it did & all the botanists are surprised that they never found it. Mr. Mansel Playdel4[sic] is so pleased that he has sent us a hare & 3 partridges, so we are having luxuries.

There is a great Orchid [[3]] sale at Bournemouth from Wednesday to Friday which I must be at all day so am very busy preparing.

Your affect.[ionate] Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

[[4]]

My dear Violet1,

I came home on Saturday & found everything all right. I hear your dress etc. was sent-off on Thursday. I hope it is satisfactory. Your Papa is going to enjoy himself at orchid sales this week & I am going to seize the opportunity & clear out his rooms. Wills letter makes me long to go to such a lovely country & I want to sell up & go. Your Papa does not see it. I did not go to Godalming as I had intended [.] It came on cold suddenly & I had no warm clothes with me so thought it best to come back & it is rather too late in the year to do much of doors. The country was lovely as I came along the line.

Yours affectionately | Annie Wallace [signature]

Don't forget to send Wills letter to Hurst.

ENDNOTES

1. Violet Wallace (1869 - 1945)- ARW's daughter

2. William Greenell Wallace (1871-19651), Wallace’s son

3. William Mitten (1819-1906), Wallace’s father-in-law

4. John Clavell Mansel-Playdell (1817-1902), B.A., J.P., and D.L., F.G.S., F.L.S.,
President of the Dorset Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.