Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP291

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
11 June 1897

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [none given] on 11 June 1897.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. Violet's expenses; Lake District walks and accommodation; Alfred Russel Wallace and Violet's mother going to Lynton (Devon) for a fortnight; Violet's bicycle; Switzerland; visits from young naturalists from Liverpool, Mr Birch, Russell Smart, and Dr Hollander the German phrenologist; regards to Eleanor.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP291.291)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/90
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

June 11th 1897

My dear Violet1

Your letter reminded me that I stopped your allowance for Michaelmas & Christmas towards your Bicycle, & that I have forgotten to send it for March. I therefore now send you a cheque for £10 for March & Midsummer. Also the guide to the Lakes with Maps &c. By far the nicest centre to stay for a few days in Grasmere2. It is the loveliest spot in the lake district & surrounded by fine mountains. Fairfield the nearest, is as fine as any. We went up it from the other side. Helvellyn3 & the Langdale Pikes4 are also within a walk and numerous tarns & [[2]] waterfalls. There is a swell Temperance Hotel before you get to the village where they would probably board you cheaply. Be sure & see the waterfall in Rydal Park. It is charming.

I send you also Will’s last 3 letters. There are also 2 post cards with nothing particular in them. 5Please keep Will’s letters & return to me their Envelopes.

There are coaches now from the Windermere Station to Grasmere; or you might go by Carnforth to the foot of Windermere & up the Lake to Ambleside, & then by coach to Grasmere, or walk & get a boy a man to take your bags. We are going on Wednesday to [[3]] Lynton, probably for a fortnight. Our address, for the first week at least, will be The Cottage Hotel, Lynton, N. Devon.

It seems to me that, having got a bicycle, you make no use of it if you go to Switzerland every year. Why not come here this holidays & go with some friends to see all the wonders of Dorsetshire, Wiltshire & Hampshire, which you can do easily, & get as much fresh air & healthy exercise as in Switzerland at one tenth of the expense. Is not that reasonable? We had our visit on Tuesday [[4]] from over two enthusiastic young Liverpool naturalists. They are staying with a relative near Milton & are going to have a weeks collecting in the New Forest. The eldest -- Birch by name -- is a nice healthy looking lad of 20, and very nice in his way. He will be out of his time at the end of the year and proposes to travel about England, Scotland &c. working at his trade and getting more treasures for his collection, as he values nothing he has not caught himself. Mr. Russell Smart, who wrote one of the articles in "The Book", also called last Sunday -- as did Dr. Holländer6 the Phrenologist, a very clever and interesting German gentleman who speaks English almost perfectly. Mr. Smart is coming again next Sunday to talk Socialism. Kind regards to Eleanor.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. ARW’s daughter, Violet Isabel, (1869 - 1945)

2. Grasmere, a village in the English Lake District

3. Helvellyn, a mountain in the English Lake District

4. The Langdale Pikes, a group of peaks on the northern side of Great Langdale

5. The following sentence appeared on the left-hand margin of the first page on the original document.

6. Dr. Bernard Holländer, a London psychiatrist and main proponent of phrenology, (1864 - 1934)

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.