Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP279

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
14 December 1896

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 14 December 1896.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. her brother William; arrangements for Christmas; bicycles; Mrs Stetson; Mr Waddington; visit from the Sharpes and Lady Torrens, Lady Torrens on spiritualism; Violet's K.G. (Kindergarten) magazine.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP279.279)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/78
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Decr.. 14th 1896

My dear Violet

I think it probable that Will will be here for Xmas from Thursday evening to Monday -- & perhaps longer if there is no other work on hand as he expects to finish present job by Xmas. As he has his cycle here perhaps you would like to bring yours to have some rides with him. I do not know Mrs. Stetsons address in America but shall probably hear before long.

I am afraid you will be a bore to all literary friends [[2]] if you ask me to write for your K.G. Mag.

The thing that would be most useful to me would be a purse as my present one is almost warn out. It is a soft leather one, with snapping knobs [a sketch of the purse appears here] which are the nicest kind of fastening I have seen & I sh[ould] like one of the same kind.

Will went off this morning by 7.30 train as he has been almost idle the last two weeks [[3]] waiting for machinery to come from Newcastle & must now work.

Yesterday afternoon Mr. Sharpe & Mrs. Sharpe came to tea to bring Lady Torrens, an Irish lady, to talk about Spiritualism [and] see Sp[iritualist] Photographs &c. She was a little over 40 -- handsome, & very Irishly talkative & enthusiastic &c. She has seen nothing but believes everything,-- so she is exactly the opposite of the scientific Psychical Researchers.

Mr. Waddington from Godalming has come to live here for the winter for his daughters health [[4]] & if he likes it will take a house here.

That is about all the news here at present, & as I have to pack up the Lib[rary] books to get a fresh lot for Xmas, must now conclude.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Let us know what day & train to expect you. | A.R.W. [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.