Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP264

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
2 June 1895

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 2 June 1895.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. examination meetings and reports, choosing orchids at Witley; gift of Barmah [Burma] orchids; gardening; her brother William's plans and Violet's proposed walking tour; possibility of Aunt Bessie (Bessie Mitten) and Ma (Annie Wallace) taking a Polytechnic tour to Switzerland; sending a copy of his address on the unemployed; sending £5 towards cost of Violet's fees and lodgings; proposed excursion near Blandford with the Bournemouth Botanic Club; remembrances to Eleanor.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP264.264)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/63
Copyright owner:
İA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

June 20 1895

My dear Violet

I have not forgotten you, but I have been very busy. You seem to forget the exams. Our last meeting was last Monday. After it I went to Witley for the night, & next day we chose orchids & other plants, & packed them in a basket & a huge box. I did not get away till 4 pm. & got home at ½ past 9 at night. Next day, just as I was unpacking & getting them in order, a gentleman called & brought me a small basket of orchids from Baruiah[?]! They [[2]] were horribly dried & shrivelled but perhaps a few of them may recover. The rest of the week I have been very busy-letters, report on Skauis[?], garden, cleaning & potting orchids &c. &c. &c. so that I have not even had time to look at a book! Will is rather anxious about his doings when his time is up. He hopes they will keep him on, and if they do he will not ask for a holiday so long as there is any particular work going on, so he does not think he can go a walking tour with you. Aunt Bessie has just written to Ma to see if she will go [[3]] to France with her. I suggest Switzerland instead & I believe they will go to Lucerne by the Polytedame tours which are wonderfully cheap. To Lucerne and back with a week there £5.5, -and lots of excursions & extensions at a moderate rate. I do not know yet whether Bessie can go for a week or a fortnight. They go every Friday through the summer.

I send you a copy of my Address on the Unemployed. You can give it away or I will send a copy to any one who wants it. [[4]] I enclose you a £5 note to go on with. If you let me know soon the exact total cost of your fees, lodgings &c. &c. I will send you the balance. I meant to send you £10 but I forgot Monday was bank holiday. Let us know your address as soon as you are in London.

If fine on Monday we are going a little excursion with the Bournemouth Botanical Club to the hills beyond Blandford.

Kind remembrances to Eleanor.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.