Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP260

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
31 January 1895

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 31 January 1895.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. winter weather; (travel) bags for Violet and her brother William; William going to Glasgow on another job; Alfred Russel Wallace's "Evolution" article part-published this month, his article on language due out in three months or more; the Evans's business failing; Violet's final exams and career prospects as a kindergarten teacher; planned chess match, Poole and Parkstone against Bournemouth; sending copy of the "R of R" with interesting articles on ?Merry England" and Mr Blatchford; Mrs Maclachlan and Hamish returning to Hindhead; Alfred Russel Wallace's answer to Mr Mott's enigma; death of Dr Fisher.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP260.260)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/59
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

Jan[uary] 31st 1895

My dear Violet,

It is quite a cold, frosty, and thick snow here as with you, but we manage to keep warm. Ma is sending you your vest. Is there any thing [of] mine to pay on the bag, & is it the 26 inch one, or 24 in[ch] the same as yours. In his last letter Will says that when this job is finished he is to go on to Glasgow on another job, so he will see a lot of Scotland.

My evolution article is half out this month-- my "Language" article [[2]] will not be out then [for] 3 months at least. Mrs. Soans says business is so bad they are obliged to sell their pictures & probably their house too!

The other day Ma felt a strong impression, all day, that she was going to the Cape! So perhaps something is going to turn up for you there, as that is the only thing I can imagine would take us. You had better try hard & pass the final exam, as with that, & 2 ½ years exclusive charge of a K.G. at Liverpool you would have a good chance [[3]] of getting a good K.G. all to yourself.

We are going to have a chess match-Poole & Parkstone against Bournemouth- 6 gentlemen and 2 ladies on each side-probably in 3 weeks or a months time. A new good player has come from London-lives beyond Constitution Hill-& that enables us to make up six. I send you the R. of R. there is a fine article in it on "Merry England" & Mr. [[4]] Blatchford.

We see Mrs. Maclachlan 2, 3 or 4 or 5 times a week. Hamish is very flourishing now, but I think they are going soon to the seaside somewhere before returning to Hindhead.

Did I tell you that Mr. Mott was so pleased with my versical answer to his Enigma that he has sent it to lots of his friends-Only one person besides us answered right, & he sent it to 150! How clever we are!!

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Take-great-care-of-your-cold-that-is-lose-it-at-once.

A.R.W. [signature]

P.S. I have just looked at the paper & see the death of Dr. Fisher-last Monday-age 75. Write to Mrs. Fisher soon & condole.

A.R.W. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. The following text is written vertically up the left margin of page 1.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.