Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP259

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
10 January 1895

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 10 January 1895.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. [travelling] bags for herself and brother William, enclosing postal order; William at Inverkeithing, Scotland, working on lighting for a paper mill; hard frost and snow at Parkstone, Violet's skates; Alfred Russel Wallace has given Mrs Maclachlan, who studied Sanskrit and other languages at Girton, his paper on language to read.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP259.259)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/58
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Jan[uar]y 10th.1895

My dear Violet

I enclose P[ostal] Orders for 22s/6d1, for you to get the bag for Will -- you can then keep it till we know where to send it, -- & if you like it as well as yours you might describe both to him, with exact sizes & give him his choice. It would go to him by post as it is I suppose under 10lbs. weight, & under 6 feet length & girth -- that is -- the length added to [[2]] the length round the middle must be not more than 6 feet. I think yours will be exactly 6 feet, but yours is 24 inches long instead of 22 in[ches].

We had a card from Will this morning saying he is just going off to Scotland to work at lighting a paper mill at Inverkeithing, which is just a little way over the Forth Bridge, and only about ten miles from Loch Leven, and some fine mountains.

I will see about your skates [[3]] tomorrow if it keeps freezing. It is hard frost here with snow on the ground as thick as ever.

Choose the bag whatever colour you think looks nicest.

In haste to save post | Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

P.S. Mrs Maclachlan studied Sanskrit & other oriental languages at Girton so I have given her my language article to read.

ARW. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. 22 shillings and 6 pennies

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.