Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP258

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
14 December 1894

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 14 December 1894.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. visit by Mrs Maclachlan and small son Hamish; Miss Macdonald expected; kindergarten books; gardening; completion of article on language; Harris leaving the 'Fortnightly', opinion of new editor; Violet should visit orchid nursery John Rowan & Co at Garston near Liverpool; Ma (Annie Wallace) going to Hurst for her mother's (Mrs Mitten) golden wedding celebrations; considering asking Clement Reid to Christmas dinner.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP258.258)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/57
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Dec[ember] 14th.1894

My dear Violet

Mrs Maclachlan arrived here on Monday with her boy Hamish -- a rather jolly & clever looking kid of 4½ -- We gave them a bed, & on Tuesday she took lodgings at a house on the Upper Road going towards Sandecotes. The rain it raineth every day, here -- and today it has not ceased one minute all day long. Miss Macdonald is expected I believe tomorrow or Monday. It is to be hoped the rain will have all come down before Xmas, so that you have some fresh air then[.]

[[2]] I have put the two Kindergarten books, & a few others of general information, & I have a few new books of interest. I have had so much to do in [the] garden & Greenhouse, & with letters etc. since my eyes got better, that I have only just now been able to try & finish my article on Language etc.

Did I tell you that Harris has given up the Fortnightly, which I am rather sorry for as I am afraid the new Ed[itor] is a mere literary man. My last article which was ready & corrected for the [[3]] October number is not out yet! There is a rumour that Harris has bought the Saturday Review & is going to edit it himself.

There is a very large Nursery -- John Rowan & Co -- at Garston about 4 miles south of Liverpool where they have immense quantities of orchids. You might go there and see them some Saturday when you want a little excursion.

Ma is going to Hurst next Monday, I believe, to her Mas golden Wedding feast, & will return I suppose in time for our Xmas feast. The only person I can think of asking is Mr. C.1 Reid, -- but [[4]] I expect he will [one word illeg.] in London before then.

I have really no more news of any kind -- so farewell for the present,

from your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Clement Reid (1853 – 1916), British geologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.