Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2569

Add to My list
Sent by:
William Allingham
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
19 November 1877

Sent by William Allingham, 12 Trafalgar Square, Chelsea, S.W. to Alfred Russel Wallace [none given] on 19 November 1877.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2569.2459)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46439 ff. 159-160
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the William Allingham Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

12 Trafalgar Square,

Chelsea, S.W.

Nov[ember] 19.[18]77

Dear Sir,

I received t[he] enclosed tonight from Dr Carpenter¹, & it seems the best course to send all to you, & beg you to read & return them to me. I have had no other communication with Dr Carpenter on t[he] subject, but this appears to be his wish in writing to me.

I will only add that I am confident you will see the desirability, on several grounds, [[2]] of administering whatever statements you deem necessary in as little irritating a form as possible; & further that I am myself absolutely impoverished in the matter personally [1 word illeg.]

I have the honour to be yours faithfully | W Allingham² [signature]

Alfred R Wallace Esq [2 words illeg.] &c. &c.

[[3]]³

ENDNOTES

1. William Benjamin Carpenter (1813-1885). English physician, physiologist, zoologist and critic of spiritualism.

2. William Allingham (1824-1889). Irish poet and editor of Fraser's Magazine for Town and Country.

3. W. Allingham written large in pencil in the centre of the top half of the last page.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.