Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP255

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
29 October 1894

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 29 October 1894.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. recovery from damage to his eyesight, unable to read or write for previous month; Ma (Annie Wallace) reading papers to him, learning Poe's 'Farewell to Earth' by heart to pass the time; visit of Miss Heaton from Natal with a trap-door spider for Violet, can supply a chameleon if wanted; 'Clementina' [Clement Reid] has left for Corfe; rearrangement of furniture in study (sketch plan included).

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP255.255)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/54
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Oct[obe]r 29th. 1894

My dear Violet

I use the first returning eyesight to send you a few lines. On Saturday Miss Heaton from Natal called & brought you a fine trap-door spider & trap, and asked if you would like another Chameleon. Of course I said yes! & she said she hoped to receive some in about a month & I told her it would be better to send it here as you would be home at Xmas.

The only other news is that [[2]] "Clementina" -- as I hear you cruelly call him -- has left for Corfe, so we shall have his evening visits no more.

During my months abstinence from reading & writing -- Ma has been very good in reading the paper to me every day & the "Clarion" on Sunday. Between whiles, when not in the garden or out walking -- which I had to perform with one eye tied up & two pairs of spectacles! -- I amused myself learning Poes "Farewell to Earth", just peeping at a line now & then when I couldnt remember [[3]] & also going over it every night in bed, so that now I know it all through without missing a word, I think, -- & I admire it more than ever so that I think I shall now give a lecture on it one day.

We have also rearranged the Study & greatly improved it: this -- [a sketch of the study appears at the bottom of the page] [[4]] It makes the room look bigger and is much more convenient.

We have had a weeks continuous gale, with rain in torrents & sunshine in between.

Your affectionate Pa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.