Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2497

Add to My list
Sent by:
H. Newcome Wright
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
20 February 1911

Sent by H. Newcome Wright, Westholme, Sandal nr Wakefield to Alfred Russel Wallace [none given] on 20 February 1911.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2497.2387)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46438 ff. 199-200
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the H. Newcome Wright Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1, 2

Westholme, Sandal, Nr Wakefield.

20th February 1911.

Dear Sir,

I am taking the liberty of asking you two questions which are in connection with two separate works of your own, and I think you will forgive the liberty.

In the first place could you tell me the name (technical name) of the parrot you refer to in your "Travels on the Amazon" -(page 291 in "Universa"[?] library edition) [[2]] (A little "marianna" or macaí of the Indians, a small black headed, white breasted, orange neck and thighed parrot? -- (Rio Negro).

Is it ever brought over to this country? Perhaps I ought to explain that for a year of two past I have been keeping small parrots -- 3 or 4 species of Brotogeris &c. and one or two Australian and New Zealand species. Could you also let me know the name of a good technical book on the parrots which would include a [[3]]3 list of species for preference. I know of Felth[?]-Smiths "Parakeets".

The other point is this -- with the higher mammals, do you think it possible for prenatal "suggestion" to have any influence in determining which characters should be inherited: I am not referring so much to physical characters, but rather psychical -- temper, disposition, &c. I don't know whether I put my difficulty quite clearly but probably you will grasp [[4]] what I am driving at.

I should perhaps explain that I cannot claim to be more than the usual "general reader", but I should not have asked you this question if I had not known you were unlike most scientists. I kept an open mind on the relation of mind and matter.

With very many apologies for the trouble I have given you

Yours faithfully | H. Newcome Wright4[signature]

A. Russell Wallace Esq.

ENDNOTES

1." Ans[wer]ed" is written in the upper left hand corner.

2. "199" is written in the upper right hand corner.

3. "200" is written in the upper right hand corner.

4. Below the signature is a stamp depicting a crown circled by the words "British Museum".

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.