Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2151

Add to My list
Sent by:
Edward Richard Alston
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
13 August 1879

Sent by Edward Richard Alston, St Andrews House, Ayr NB to Alfred Russel Wallace [none given] on 13 August 1879.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2151.2041)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46436 ff. 42-43
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Edward Richard Alston Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

St. Andrews House

Ayr, N. B.

13th Aug[us]t 1879

My dear Sir

I have just received yours of the 11th inst[ance]. There is certainly no species or well-marked variety of mammal which is peculiar to the British Islands. Sorex rusticus. Jenyns = S.pygmaeus, Pallas + S. minutus, Linn. (the latter name having priority), is widely distributed throughout the Palaearctic Region. Lepus hibernicus, Yarrell = L. Canescens, hilsson, and is merely a low ground variety of Lepus [[2]] variablilis Pallas; it occurs in the Southern provinces of Sweden as well as in Ireland, and its principal peculiarity is that it rarely becomes white in winter. Two "species" of Arnicola have been supposed to be peculiar to Britain namely A. neglecta, Thompson and A. britannicus, De Selys, but they are both certainly identical with the common North European species A. agrestis, De Selys, and cannot be distinguished even as distinct varieties.

[[3]] You will find the references &c. to these synonyms in the second edition of Bell's "British [1 word illeg.]"

I am, Dear Sir | Yours very truly | Edward R. Alston [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.