Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2061

Add to My list
Sent by:
Sibell Brandon
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
22 August 1911

Sent by Sibell Brandon, Oakbrook, Ravenscourt Park, W to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset] on 22 August 1911.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2061.1951)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46442 f. 148
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Sibell Brandon Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

OAKBROOK,

RAVENSCOURT PARK, W.

Aug[ust]. 22. 1911

Dear Dr Wallace,

I do not know how to tell you how entirely grateful I feel to you for your careful scrutiny & criticism of my Brother's translation which, with your kind letter, reached [[2]]me this morning.

I am forwarding both to my Brother. How he will appreciate all your kindness!

He too will be sorry -- as I am -- to hear you are suffering so badly from rheumatism. I sincerely hope the trouble will soon pass & that you may enjoy your usual good health thro[ugh] many a long full day to come.

[[3]] My Brother's news is much the same. He is well & manages to keep his imagination well occupied -- probably the most necessary thing, under the circumstances. And we must possess our hearts in patience.

this awful Labour Strife -- the horrors & the sorrow of it all! -- seems to have taken the life -- or rather, the joy of life out of me. I have been able to think of nothing else & can only hope & pray for happier days for this dear England.

--Accept please, my beautiful "Thank you" & give all kindly greetings to Mrs Wallace & your daughter.

Sincerely & gratefully yours, | Sibell Brandon [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Written in the top left of the page in an unidentified hand is "Sibell".

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.