Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP2023

Add to My list
Sent by:
Lewis Weston Dillwyn
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
25 February 1848

Sent by Lewis Weston Dillwyn, Royal Institution of South Wales, Sketty Hall to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Neath, Glamorganshire] on 25 February 1848.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP2023.1913)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46435 f. 1
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Lewis Llewelyn Dillwyn Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Royal Institution of South Wales1

Sir

I have this afternoon shown your letter to the Council of our Institution. I am correct in foretelling their answer -- The fact is that we have not a single member who knows anything about Insects & I regret that I did not hear of our having an Entomologist in the neighbourhood till I received your letter.

I am now working up a number of notes which for about half a Century I have been collecting on our Mammals, Birds & Fishes with the intent of printing a few copies for the convenience of the British Association & I may perhaps [word illeg. crossed-out] far comply with a request to reprint my Bagatelle on the Coleoptera [[2]]2 (which has been my science) as to add a selection of the more interesting new[?] species. In this case I shall be happy to notice the additions of which you have sent me a list & any particulars respecting this with which you may find leisure to inform me.

I am glad to hear that your valuable collection will remain at Neath, & trust that it . . . accompanied by a Catalogue with the particular Habitats of all the Welsh Regions

In haste | Yours obediently | L W Dillwyn3 [signature]

Sketty Hall

Feb[ruar]y 25. 18484

ENDNOTES

1. The Institutes letterhead and logo appears, centred, at the top of the page.

2. The second page of the letter is written on the reverse of the first.

3. Lewis Weston Dillwyn (1778 - 1855). Naturalist, porcelain manufacturer and Member of Parliament.

4. The bottom right-hand side of this page features the stamp of the British Museum.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.