Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1844

Add to My list
Sent by:
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
13 November 1859

Sent by Charles Robert Darwin, Ilkley Wells to Alfred Russel Wallace [none given] on 13 November 1859.

Record created:
30 November 2011 by Mayer, Anna
Verified by:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine (All except summary checked);

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)
  • publication (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1844.1734)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
British Library, The
Finding number:
BL Add. 46434 ff. 18-19
Copyright owner:
©William H. Darwin
Record scrutiny:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Down Bromley Kent1

Nov. 13./[18]59/

My dear Sir

I have told Murray to send you by Post (if possible) a copy of my Book & I hope that you will receive it at nearly same time with this note. (N.B I have got a bad finger which makes me write extra badly--) If you are so inclined, I sh[oul]d very much like to hear your general impression of the Book as you have thought so profoundly on subject & in so nearly same channel with myself. I hope there will be some little [[2]] new to you, but I fear not much. Remember it is only an abstract & very much condensed. God knows what the public will think. No one has read it, except Lyell, with whom I have had much correspondence. Hooker thinks him a complete convert; but he does not seem so in his letters to me; but he is evidently deeply interested in subject.-- I do not think your share in the theory will be overlooked by the real judges as Hooker Lyell, Asa Gray &c.--

[[3]] I have heard from Mr Sclater that your paper on Malay Arch.[ipelago] has been read at Linn.[ean] Soc[iety], & that he was extremely much interested by it.

I have not seen one naturalist for 6 or 9 months owing to the state of my health, & therefore I really have no news to tell you.-- I am writing this at Ilkley Wells, where I have been with my family for the last six weeks & shall stay for some few weeks longer. As yet I have profited very little. God knows when I shall have strength [[4]] for my bigger book.--

I sincerely hope that you keep your health; I suppose that you will be thinking of returning soon with your magnificent collection & still grander mental materials. You will be puzzled how to publish. The Royal Soc. fund will be worth your consideration.

With every good wish, | pray believe me, | Yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin [signature]

I think that I told you before that Hooker is a complete convert. If I can convert Huxley I shall be content.--

ENDNOTES

1. Darwin was actually staying at Ilkley Wells when writing this letter.

SOURCE OF TRANSCRIPT

This transcript is based on that produced by The Darwin Correspondence Project (http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/): see http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/entry-2529

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.