Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1668

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Richard Norris
On:
15 June 1912

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset to Richard Norris [address not recorded] on 15 June 1912.

Record created:
02 September 2011 by Beccaloni, George

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1668.1542)

A transcription typewritten  in English.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP2/6/3/8(81)
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

ARW to Dr. R. Norris.1 Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset. June 15th. 1912.

My dear Dr Norris,

I send you today a copy of "Nature" with my portrait., to illustrate their including me in their series of "Scientific worthies". The account of my books, work, &c. is admirably done by an American biologist2 who has paid me the highest compliment I have received yet by placing me in the same group as Darwin, Lyell, & Galton.

I am fairly well, but my poor legs do not get much better. I am now trying to apply the "Salisbury" treatment more carefully -- minced beef & hot water; I have a nice little book on the subject, which describes the results of it on the writer so enthusiastically that I still have hopes.

The weather just now is delightful - alternate showers and sunshine, just what we should have had in April. But our garden has never been more luxuriant or more beautiful than it is now.

With kind remembrances to your daughter, believe me your friend & well-wisher Alfred R. Wallace

ENDNOTES:

1. Norris, Richard (dates unknown)

2. Osborn, Dr. Henry Fairfield (1857-1935); Professor of Zoology at Columbia University

REFERENCES IN ENDNOTES:

Osborn, Dr. Henry Fairfield (1913). Alfred Russel Wallace. <http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Page:Popular_Science_Monthly_Volume_83.djvu/527> [accessed 3 July 2014]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.