Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1644

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred William Parsons
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
28 June 1912

Sent by Alfred William Parsons, Riverside, Lechlade to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) [address not recorded] on 28 June 1912.

Record created:
23 May 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1644.1423)

A typical letter  .

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/4/22
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Alfred William Parsons Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Riverside

Lechlade,

Glo[ucester]s[hire].

June 28 1912

Dear Mrs Wallace

I am so sorry about the mistake in the address; if you will send me the flower tomorrow I shall be very glad; kindly send it by letter post otherwise it might not be delivered so soon.

I shall telegraph in the morning in case [[2]] this should not reach you by the first post.

Yours truly | Alfred Parsons [signature]

ENDNOTES:

1. Wallace, Annie (née Mitten) (1846-1914); the wife of Alfred Russel Wallace.

2. Rosa stellata, as referenced in a previous letter (WCP 1643).

2. Parsons, Alfred William (1847-1920); painter

REFERENCES IN ENDNOTES:

BBC: Your Paintings (2014). Alfred William Parsons. <http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/yourpaintings/artists/alfred-william-parsons> [accessed 4 July 2014]

Beccaloni, George (2009). Wallace's Genealogy. <http://wallacefund.info/wallaces-genealogy> [accessed 4 July 2014]

Wallace Letters Online (2011). WCP1643. <http://www.nhm.ac.uk/research-curation/scientific-resources/collections/library-collections/wallace-letters-online/1643/1422/S/details.html#S1> [accessed 4 July 2014]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.