Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1517

Add to My list
Sent by:
William Henry Hudson
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
21 December 

Sent by William Henry Hudson, 40 St. Lukes Road to Alfred Russel Wallace [address not recorded] on 21 December .

Record created:
23 May 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1517.1296)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

One of forty eight letters collated into an album by William Greenell Wallace [WP1/9/10 - WP1/9/59]. The album consists of 'a selection of autograph letters written by people of note on the 19th century' to Alfred Russel Wallace together with some letters to other members of the Wallace family. The arrangement of the letters has been retained as in the album.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/9/17
Copyright owner:
The Society of Authors as the Literary Representatives of the Estate of W.H. Hudson

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1,2

No.

635 Mayfair

Telephone No.

3570 Central

Telegraphic Address,

"Zoological, London"

Zoological Society of London

3, Hanover Square, London, W

40 St. Lukes Road W

Dec[ember]. 21

Dear Dr Wallace

Some days ago I promised a friend -- Mr. W. Rothenstein3 to write to you & ask if you would be willing for him to take your portrait, in black & white, to be lithographed.

Mr Rothenstein is undoubtedly very successful in portraiture. Some years ago he featured "Oxford Portraits", [[2]] & a couple of years ago "English Portraits" -- a series of lithographs of well known persons. He is now working on another series on the same lines, to include about twenty or twenty-five men of the time whose names in Science, Literature & other deportments stand highest in the world’s testimonies[?]. He is very anxious to be allowed to include your portrait; & of course he knows that unless he succeeds in getting the face he covets his work will not be what he intends to make it. He [[3]] has just made an excellent portrait of Sir Joseph Hooker4, who is close at hand, & is now doing, or going to do shortly, Lord Kelvin5. The other two in the world of Science he desires are yourself & Sir Oliver Lodge6.

Mr. Rothenstein would of course go down to you, any-time during the winter or spring months when it would be convenient for you to give him a sitting.

I so most sincerely hope that you will make a favourable reply -- one I shall should be delighted to convey to the artist; &, further, I so think it most important that there should be good portraits -- not only photographs -- of those who have been and are the leaders of thought of this time.

Believe me, dear Dr. Wallace | with the Season’s good wishes | Yours very truly | W. H. Hudson7 [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Text in the hand of ARW reads “Answ[ere]d” written diagonally in the top left of the page

2. Text in unknown hand reads “WP1/9/17” in the top centre of the page

3. William Rothenstein (1872 - 1945), English painter, draughtsman and writer on art

4. Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker (1817 - 1911), English botanist and explorer

5. William Thomson, 1st Baron Kelvin (1824 - 1907), British mathematical physicist and engineer

6. Sir Oliver Joseph Lodge (1851 - 1940), British physicist and writer

7. William Henry Hudson (1841 - 1922), author, naturalist and ornithologist

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.