Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1512

Add to My list
Sent by:
Thomas Henry Huxley
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
29 June 

Sent by Thomas Henry Huxley, [address not recorded] to Alfred Russel Wallace [address not recorded] on 29 June .

Record created:
23 May 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1512.1291)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/9/12
Copyright owner:
ŠImperial College London

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

My dear Wallace

I could not understand what had become of you & it is so early in the year that the thought of your having gone abroad had not occured to me.

I would [MS illeg.] much to drin [sic] with mr <Carl?>1 [MS illeg.] <as?> <one?> of the principal <reasons?> [[2]] <concerned?> <with?> [3 words illeg.] was with me.

I am afraid more complications may have arisen, [MS illeg.] consequences of my being unable to communicate with you, [MS crossed out] the name of [2 words illeg.] [[3]] [MS illeg.] was mentioned:-- <but?> I [2 words illeg.] to [3 wrods illeg.] at once, so [3 words illeg.] <them?> to put themselves in communication with you.

I was down by [MS illeg.] & [3 words illeg.] crawl this [[4]] much. The [MS illeg.] & [6 words illeg.] all the better <you?> getting away

[2 words illeg.] | T.H.Huxley2 [signature]

[3 words illeg.]

[[5]]3

p. 261

As a lad of 16 I could hear the chirping of grasshoppers & at 26 being slightly deaf, in the valley of [MS illeg.] near [MS illeg.] with my father i was quite bothered with the noise in the grass whilst my father heard nothing! Now (62) being very deaf all high and <unclear?> notes seem much alike to me [MS illeg.] I [MS illeg.] cricket <nor?> grasshopper.

[[6]]

[MS illeg.]

Selection

[[7]]

p. 271.

I, aged 62, very deaf, but far more in left than right ear, have almost lost the power of vocalising (i.e. knowing the direction whence it comes) sound.

(See [MS illeg.] note on p. 269)

T.H.H. [signature]

[[8]]

Found in Ll Morgan's4 "Animal Life & Intelligence."5

ENDNOTES

1. No biographical information available.

2. Huxley, Thomas Henry. (1825-1895). English biologist. Strong Darwing advocate.

3. Pages 5 and on are written by Huxley, but are on a different paper and were possibly written at a different time.

4. Morgan, Conwy Lloyd. (1852-1936). British ethologist and psychologist.

5. Animal life and Intelligence. Written by Conwy Lloyd Morgan. Published in 1891.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.