Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1454

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
On:
6 October 1858

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Ternate, Moluccas to Joseph Dalton Hooker [none given] on 6 October 1858.

Record created:
07 March 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline
Verified by:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine (All except summary checked);

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1454.4022)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

This letter was enclosed in a letter to Charles Darwin to be forwarded to Joseph Dalton Hooker to the Darwin Correspondence Project.

Held by:
Cambridge University Library
Finding number:
MS Dar 270, 3:1
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Ternate, Moluccas

Oct[ober]. 6. 1858

My dear Sir

I beg leave to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of July last, sent me by Mr. Darwin, & informing me of the steps you had taken with reference to a paper I had communicated to that gentleman. Allow me in the first place sincerely to thank yourself & Sir Charles Lyell for your kind offices on this occasion, & to assure you of the gratification afforded me both by the course you have pursued, & the favourable opinions of my essay which you have so kindly expressed. I cannot but consider myself a favoured party in this matter, because it has hitherto been too much the practice in cases of this sort to impute all the merit to the [[2]] first discoverer of a new fact or a new theory, & little or none to any other party who may, quite independently, have arrived at the same result a few years or a few hours later.

I also look upon it as a most fortunate circumstance that I had a short time ago commenced a correspondence with Mr. Darwin on the subject of "Varieties", since it has led to the earlier publication of a portion of his researches & has secured to him a claim to priority which an independent publication either by myself or some other party might have injuriously affected;--for it is evident that the time has now arrived when these & similar views will [the former word replaces a deleted and illeg. word] be promulgated & must be fairly discussed.

It would have caused me much [[3]] pain & regret had Mr. Darwin’s excess of generosity led him to make public my paper unaccompanied by his own much earlier & I doubt not much more complete views on the same subject, & I must again thank you for the course you have adopted, which while strictly just to both parties, is so favourable to myself.

Being on the eve of a fresh journey I can now add no more than to thank you for your kind advice as to a speedy return to England;-- but I dare say you well know & feel, that to induce a Naturalist to quit his researches at their most interesting point requires some more cogent argument than the prospective loss of health.

I remain | My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

J. D. Hooker, M.D.1

[[4]]2 Jos[eph]. D[alton]. Hooker, M.D. F.R.S.

ENDNOTES

1. Hooker, Joseph Dalton (1817 - 1911). English botanist and 2nd Director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

2. The text on this page is written in the centre of the page, which is otherwise blank.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.