Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP1254

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
7 August [?1898]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [none given] on 7 August [?1898].

Record created:
23 May 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP1254.1033)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/136
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

Sunday, Aug.[ust] 7th.

My dear Violet1

I enclose card which came this morning showing that are all right both in Biology & Botany. I only wish you had gone in for Advanced as the questions seemed no more difficult than in the Elementary. I suppose you were up till midnight last night observing the snow-cap of Mars, which is now very large, & Mars is nearest the Earth. Saturn also can be seen in the Evening early with a very narrow ring. [[2]] Venus too could be seen splendidly just before sunrise, so you will have plenty of telescope work.

Kind regards to Mrs. Fisher2 & the Doctor, and

Believe me | Your affectionate Papa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Violet Isabel Wallace (1869-1945), daughter of Alfred Russel Wallace.

2. Arabella Burton Fisher (1840-1929), nee Buckley, secretary for Charles Lyell.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.