The Cockayne Trust

Founded by Dr EA Cockayne in 1951, this fund was set up for the promotion and study of the science of entomology by making improvements to and by furnishing information about the Rothschild-Cockayne-Kettlewell Collection.

Under the administration of its Trustees and Committee, the fund has been used for improvement of the collection by purchase of specimens and to pay for publications relating to the collection and is now supporting the Cockayne Website. The Committee normally meets once a year to discuss administration of funds and to receive reports on the collection. It also administers the Cockayne Research Fund, established in 1990. Donations in support of the Trust and Research Fund are welcomed.

Cockayne Trustees

  • Dr Michael Dixon - Director of the Natural History Museum
  • Dr Malcolm Scoble -¬†Keeper of the Department of Entomology
  • Mr N. Greenwood - Director of Finance at the Natural History Museum

The Cockayne Committee

Donations to the Cockayne Trust

In order to continue its work, particularly in completion and maintenance of the Cockayne website and in support of the Cockayne Fellowship, the Trust will need to increase its investment capital.

All donations will be warmly welcomed. Cheques should be made out to The Cockayne Fund and sent to the Secretary to the Cockayne Trust, Department of Entomology, The Natural History Museum, Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD.