The Myriapoda is a group (sub phylum) comprising 4 classes of arthropods:

  • Chilopoda
  • Symphyla
  • Pauropoda
  • Diplopoda

All myriapods possess:

  • many pairs of legs
  • one pair of antennae
  • two or three pairs of mouth parts
Myriapoda collection

Explore the Museum's collection of Myriapoda, a subphylum of arthropods containing millipedes and centipedes.

About the name

The name Myriapoda means 'myriad legs' and comes from Greek myrias meaning 10,000.