The Ensifera, are better known as crickets

All crickets have long thread-like antennae with more than 30 segments, and sing by rubbing the forewings over each other.

They are often nocturnal and are generally omnivorous, although some can be predatory.

The Ensifera is made of six superfamilies:

  • Tettigonioidea
  • Stenopelmatoidea
  • Rhaphidophoroidea
  • Hagloidea
  • Schizodactyloidea
  • Grylloidea
About the name

The Ensifera are named for the sword-shaped ovipositor found in females, from the Latin ensis meaning sword.