Marsh Palaeontology Award

The Marsh Award for Palaeontology honours individuals or groups living in the UK who have made a significant contribution to the field of palaeontology.

Marsh Award 2013

Mr John Quayle is the current recipient of this prestigious award.

In the panel’s opinion, John exemplifies the spirit of the Marsh Award for Palaeontology. He has made a substantial contribution to our understanding of crustacean diversity during the Eocene and inspired others to follow in his footsteps. He has unselfishly donated his collections to museums to make them universally available.

Read more about John Quayle (PDF 43.6 KB)

Award details

The award aims to recognise 'unsung heroes' who have contributed significant work to the field, yet whose efforts have not necessarily been widely recognised to date. Those nominated can be of either amateur or professional status.

The annual award will consist of a certificate and a prize of £1,000 to be presented at the Museum towards the end of the calendar year.

Nomination criteria

Nominees should have made a single outstanding contribution to palaeontology in the UK, in one or more of the following areas:

  • publications
  • collecting
  • conservation
  • promotion of palaeontology (including setting up of websites, teaching or popular publication)
About the Marsh Award

The Marsh Christian Trust is a grant-making body founded in 1981 by Brian Marsh OBE. Its Award Scheme, developed over the past 30 years, recognises and rewards those who do things out of love, not money.

The Marsh Palaeontology Award is one of 70 Awards the Marsh Trust runs in partnership with other charitable organisations.

Find out more

Marsh Award 2013

Award Partner: Marsh Christian Trust
Mr Brian Marsh OBE, Chairman

Convenor: Dr Martin Munt
Head of Palaeobiology Collections, Natural History Museum
Chair of Marsh Christian Trust Award for Palaeontology

Speaker: Dr Paul Barrett
President, The Palaeontographical Society
Co-Senior Editor, Journal of Vertebrate Paleontology
Merit Researcher (Dinosaurs) and Head of Division, Fossil Vertebrates, Anthropology and Micropalaeontology, Natural History Museum