Euglenophyta, Chrysophyta and Xanthophyta

The algal herbarium holds a small collection of specimens classified under Euglenophyta, Chryosphyta and Xanthophyta.


  • dried/pressed herbarium specimens

Genera in the collection


  • Synechocystis didemni (includes holotype specimen)


  • Euglena


  • Apistonema
  • Chrysotila


  • Hydrurus (including one type specimen)
  • Mallomonas
  • Phaeococcus
  • Phaeosaccion (including one type specimen)
  • Phaeothamnion (including one type specimen)
  • Synura


  • Botrydiopsis
  • Botrydium
  • Bumilleria
  • Chlamydomyxa
  • Ophiocytium
  • Tribonema
  • Vaucheria (including six type specimens)


Euglenophyta (euglenoids)
The euglenoids are unicellular green organisms with one or two flagella and a red eyespot. They often move with a characteristic squirming motion. Most species of euglenoids inhabit freshwater environments. 

Chrysophyta (golden-brown algae)
The cells of the Chrysophyta are characteristically golden to yellow-brown due to the presence of accessory pigments. They mostly occur in freshwater habitats.  

Xanthophyta (yellow-green algae)
The Xanthophytes are photosynthetic organisms which live mostly in freshwater. The typical yellow-green cells are due to the presence of the accessory pigment diatoxanthin in two or more chloroplasts.