The Marsh Awards for Palaeontology, Mineralogy and Best Earth Sciences Book of the Year - 2018

David Ward (left), Palaeontology Marsh Award 2017 winner, receiving his award from Brian Marsh

Event information

Event type: Science

Location: The Flett Theatre, Natural History Museum

Subject: Earth sciences

Speaker details: Prof Chris Stringer: The Origins of our Species

Ticket prices:

Adult: Free

Date: 11 January 2019

The Marsh Awards recognise unsung heroes who have made a major contribution to the promotion of palaeontology or mineralogy in the UK and abroad. 

These contributions could include:

  • popular publications
  • websites
  • collecting and donation of natural history collections to museums
  • superb preparation or conservation of specimens in public collections
  • artistic or technical innovations

A new category of Marsh Awards, the Best Earth Sciences Book of the Year, was established in 2017 to recognize the achievements of authors who published outstanding scientific or academic books in this field of science. 

The awards

Three awards will be presented:

  • The Marsh Award for Palaeontology
  • The Marsh Award for Mineralogy
  • The Marsh Award for Best Earth Sciences Book of the Year

A certificate and £1000 prize is awarded for each of the three awards.

Nominations for 2018 are now being accepted for these three categories of Marsh Awards in partnership with the Natural History Museum. 

Nominations and deadline

Nominations will be accepted for groups or individuals. Groups are eligible for self-nomination. Please utilize a separate form for each nominee, except for group nominees, in which case please list the name of each individual in the group.

Please complete the appropriate nomination form and send to, attaching any independent letters of support. The deadline for nominations is 15 December 2018.

The awards ceremony

The awards ceremony will be in the Flett Theatre of the Natural History Museum in London on 11 January 2019.  As part of the ceremony, there will be a lecture delivered Prof Chris Stringer on The Origins of our Species. The event is free but registration is required. Please complete and submit the form below  to by 13 December 2018.

More about the Marsh Awards

The awards are the creation of Brian Marsh OBE, chairman of the Marsh Christian Trust, who wanted a vehicle to recognise 'unsung heroes and heroines', people who are passionate about what they do and devote their time to improving the world and our knowledge of it.

The trust runs a scheme of some 75 awards in partnership with organisations across the fields of heritage, the arts, social welfare and conservation. In 2015 the awards recognized over 150 people throughout the UK and internationally for their voluntary, professional and group contributions.

Previous Winners

Marsh Award in Palaeontology

  • 2017 David Ward
  • 2016 William Blows
  • 2015 Dean Lomax
  • 2013 John Quayle
  • 2012 Peter Austen
  • 2010 Steven Sweetman
  • 2009 Stan Wood
  • 2008 Joe S.H. Collins

Marsh Award in Mineralogy

  • 2017 David Green
  • 2016 Roy Starkey

Best Earth Sciences Book of the Year

2017 The Origin and Nature of Life on Earth – The Emergence of the Fourth Geosphere (Authors: Eric Smith and Harold J Morowitz). Cambridge University Press, 2016.

Event dates


Would you like to nominate someone for an award? Just fill out the form below and submit by 15 December 2018.

Palaeontology nomination

Mineralogy nomination

Earth Sciences Book of the Year nomination


The event is free but registration is required. Please complete and submit the registration form by 13 December 2018.

Funded by

The Marsh Awards 2017 winners

Read an NHM blog post on the 2017 winners.