Natural History Museum appoints three new members of the Board

Press release - 01 May 2008

The Natural History Museum is pleased to announce the appointment of three new Trustees. Professor Sir Roy Anderson, Professor David Drewry and Dr Derek Langslow provide the Museum’s Board with expertise in science and academic management, business and finance.

Professor Sir Roy Anderson
Professor Sir Roy Anderson has been co-opted by the Board to serve an initial four-year term from 1 April 2008. Currently Professor Infectious Disease Epidemiology in the faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London Professor Sir Roy has just returned from the Ministry of Defence, where he has been Chief Scientific Adviser for the past three years.  He takes up the position of Rector of Imperial in July 2008.

His previous positions include the Linacre Professorship and Head of Zoology, University of Oxford (1993-98), Professor of Parasite Epidemiology and Head of Biology at Imperial (1984-93) and Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology, University of Oxford (1995-2000).  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Academy of Medical Sciences and a Foreign Associate Member of the Institute of Medicine at the US National Academy of Sciences.  He has published over 450 scientific papers on the epidemiology, population biology, evolution and control of a wide variety of infectious disease agents, including HIV, BSE, foot and mouth, vCJD, SARS and dengue, parasitic melminths and protozoa, and respiratory tract viral and bacterial infections.  His principal research interests are epidemiology, population biology, evolutionary biology, biomathematics, demography and parasitology.  He also has a keen interest in science policy and the public understanding of science.  He was knighted in the Queen’s 2006 birthday honours.  He has held a wide variety of advisory and consultancy posts with government departments, pharmaceutical companies and international aid agencies, and is a non-executive director of GlaxoSmithKline.

Professor David Drewry
Professor David Drewry has been appointed by the Prime Minister to serve an initial four-year term from 6 May 2008. Professor Drewry is Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hull, a Visiting Professor at the University of London, Queen Mary and Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge.

His background is in the earth sciences and climate change on which he has published extensively and he has held senior positions at both academic and scientific organisations, as Director of the British Antarctic Survey and of the Scott Polar Research Institute, and as Deputy Chief Executive of the Natural Environment Research Council.  He was also Director General of the British Council for a short time.  Professor Drewry is a non-executive director of The Deep (millennium project) in Hull and a Trustee of the Antarctic Heritage Trust.  He was President of the International Arctic Science Committee between 1994-2002, Vice-President of the Royal Geographical Society from 1991-1993 and served on the Intergovernmental Panel on climate change.

Dr Derek Langslow
Dr Derek Langslow has been appointed by the Prime Minister to serve an initial four-year term from 6 May 2008. Dr Langslow was Chief Executive of English Nature (EN) from 1990 to 2000.  Previously he worked as a research scientist and lecturer at Cambridge and Edinburgh Universities before joining the Chief Scientist Team of the Nature Conservancy Council (NCC).  Initially he ran the ornithological research programme before being responsible for the finance and management of the team.  For three years he was Director of Personnel and Finance.  Dr Langslow has sat on numerous boards, trusts and Committees and lead Quinquennial Reviews.  He is currently a Trustee of the Heritage Lottery Fund (to February 2008) and Chairs their Audit Committee.


Notes for editors

  • Selected by Time Out in 2007 as one of the Seven Wonders of London, the Natural History Museum is also a world-leading science research centre. Through its collections and scientific expertise, the Museum is helping to conserve the extraordinary richness and diversity of the natural world with groundbreaking projects in 68 countries.
  • Current Trustees of the Natural History Museum include: Oliver Stocken (Chairman), Daniel Alexander QC, Louise Charlton, Professor Dianne Edwards CBE FRS, Professor Alex Halliday FRS, Mr Ian J Henderson CBE, Professor Jacquie McGlade, Professor Georgina Mace OBE FRS and Sir David Omand GCB KCB. 
  • The posts are not remunerated. Reasonable expenses can be claimed. The appointments have been made in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. None of the candidates have taken part in any significant activity during the last five years.

For further information, please contact:
Claudine Fontana, Natural History Museum press office
Tel: 020 7942 5654 Email:

Cartoon image of a stegasaurus disappearing through closing door

The first collected specimen of Theobroma cacao, the plant from which chocolate is made, is kept in the Museum.