Skip to page content

Press release

Louise Charlton becomes a Trustee of the Natural History Museum

The Prime Minister has appointed Louise Charlton as a Trustee to the Board of the Natural History Museum for a period of four years, commencing 1 May 2006.

Louise Charlton is Senior Partner of Brunswick Group LLP, an international corporate communications group she co-founded 19 years ago. It now has 10 offices in seven countries, employing 300 people.

'I have spent many hours in the Natural History Museum as a child and more recently as a mother of three,' said Louise Charlton. 'It is a place of wonder, fascination and critical education that should be appreciated by and enrich the lives of as many as possible. It is a great honour to be given this opportunity of working with the rest of the Trustees to support the Museum's staff to deliver a diverse range of projects and activities.'

Louise graduated from Reading University with a degree in French. After starting her career in retail at Selfridges, she moved into public relations. Since co-founding Brunswick, Louise has advised numerous UK and international companies on their external and internal profiles.


Notes for editors

  • Winner of the 2004 Large Visitor Attraction of the Year award, the Natural History Museum is also a world-leading science research centre. Through its collections and scientific expertise, the Museum is helping to conserve the extraordinary richness and diversity of the natural world with groundbreaking projects in 68 countries. The Museum is committed to encouraging public engagement with science. This has been greatly enhanced by the Darwin Centre, a major new initiative, which offers visitors unique access behind the scenes of the Museum. Phase One of the project opened to the public in 2002 and Phase Two is scheduled to open in 2008.
  • Current Trustees of the Natural History Museum include: Mr Oliver Stocken (Chairman), Sir William Castell LVO, Professor Dianne Edwards CBE FRS, Professor Alex Halliday FRS, Professor Michael Hassell CBE FRS, Mr Ian J Henderson CBE, Professor Jacquie McGlade, Professor Georgina Mace OBE FRS, Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas DBE, Sir David Omand GCB, Professor Linda Partridge CBE FRS FRSE.
  • The posts are not remunerated. Reasonable expenses can be claimed. The appointments have been made in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.
  • Louise Charlton holds no other public appointments and has not carried out any political activity in the past five years.

For further information, please contact:
Tel: 020 7942 5654